MBBS in Odisha

The National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET) is an entrance test conducted for admission in the field of medicine and surgery i.e. MBBS. The NEET is conducted by the National Testing Agency (NTA). As stated by the National Testing Agency (NTA), the number of students who have attempted NEET-UG 2019 and 2020 aggregates to 15,19,375 and 15,97,435 respectively. Several applications were received from students of different nations. Based on the data uploaded by the NTA insinuates that 687 and 878 overseas students appeared in the year-2019 and year-2020 respectively. In Odisha, 32378 students appeared for NEET 2020. Among these, only 19244 students were able to pass the necessary mark decided by the NTA in NEET 2020. Due to the toughness of the exam, qualified students number plunged to half. There are a total of 511 colleges in India that imparts MBBS courses. Among the 511 medical colleges, there are 250 public colleges and 261 private medical schools. In Odisha, there is a whole of 12 medical schools. The 8 medical schools are under the authority of the government. While the remaining 4 colleges are managed by separate foundations/ trusts. An individual state committee handles the counseling process of the NEET-UG for the natives of Odisha.


List of colleges in Odisha

S.No. Name of
Medical College / Medical Institution
Management of College Annual Intake (Seats)
1 Veer Surendra Sai Institute of Medical Sciences and Research, Burla Govt. 200
2 All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Bhubaneswar Govt. 100
3 SCB Medical College, Cuttack Govt. 250
4 MKCG Medical College, Berhampur Govt. 250
5 Government Medical College & Hospital (Renamed as Bhima Bhoi Medical College & Hospital), Balangir Govt. 100
6 Government Medical College & Hospital (Renamed as Fakir Mohan Medical College & Hospital), Balasore Govt. 100
7 Pt. Raghunath Murmu Medical College and Hospital, Baripada, Odisha Govt. 125
8 Saheed Laxman Nayak Medical College & Hospital, Koraput Govt. 125
9 Hi-Tech Medical College & Hospital, Rourkela Trust 100
10 Instt. Of Medical Sciences & SUM Hospital, Bhubaneswar Trust 250
11 Kalinga Institute of Medical Sciences, Bhubaneswar Trust 250
12 Hi-Tech Medical College & Hospital, Bhubaneswar Trust 100

Eligibility criteria for MBBS in Odisha

  • Minimum age limit- Minimum age of candidates should at least by 17-years while appearing for NEET.
  • Maximum age limit- While appearing for NEET candidates should be more than 25-years of age. Some omissions are done for the category students.
  • Mandatory subjects- Students should opt for Physics, Chemistry, Biology, and English in the std. 12th.
  • Minimum marks- The aggregate percentage for students in std. 12th should be more than 50%.
  • Domicile rule- To fit in the domicile rule criteria of the Odisha state, candidates should be a native of the state.



Domicile rule

What is a domicile rule?

Let’s do a more imminent inspection at the domicile certificate. One can receive the certificate from the regional authority (especially Tehsildar) or the revenue department. The domicile certificate is proof of a person’s permanent residence. Distinct rules are made by separate states. If the person is a permanent tenant in the state, they will only issue a certificate. However, in many states, the certificate is issued after a person has lived in the state for numerous years. In Odisha, certificates are issued to individuals who permanently dwell in the state. The certificate can be procured from the local regulatory office and the district office. The certificate can be obtained within 10-15 days. As part of the processing charge, the appellant must pay a specified price. Certain documents are required during the certificate processing as a person’s proof of residence, including Adhar/Pan card, passport photo, address proof. This rule applies to 85% of seats offered by any college in Odisha. But the remaining 15% of the seats are reserved for the non-localities of the Odisha state.


In Odisha, the counseling process is conducted by the Odisha Joint Entrance Examination Committee (OJEEC). This committee carries on the responsibility of declaration of a state merit list after the declaration of NEET results and cut-off list. On the official website of the committee i.e. https://ojee.nic.in, the list is published. Students should visit the website and check the list for their names. The candidates who are selected should carry on with the further process of seat selection and choice filling. 3 rounds of merit lists are published. After the publication of all the merit lists, students are called for the counseling process. For this process, students should download their call letters from the website of the committee. The letter contains the necessary information regarding the place and time and, documents the candidate should carry for the counseling process. The documents that can be needed for verification process are mentioned below.

  • Printout of application form
  • NEET-UG result
  • NEET-UG Admit Card
  • Class 10 Mark Sheet
  • Class 12 Mark Sheet
  • Caste Certificate
  •  Income Certificate
  •  Domicile Certificate
  • Passport Size Photographs

Following might help you as well.