The National Testing Agency (NTA) which is organized as a professional, premier, self-governing, and self-sustained testing organization is the accountable authority for commanding and controlling multiple Entrance Tests NEET, JEE, etc. There are vital duties of NTA constitute concerning NEET such as the formulation of NEET question paper, publication of results, the announcement of the cut-off list as per several categories, governing the processes of admission carried out by the state authorities, etc. There are a total of 13 colleges in Bihar that offer MBBS courses. Among these, there are 9 government colleges and 4 private colleges. The total amount of seats offered by these colleges accounts for 1480.

The Bihar Combined Entrance Competitive Examination Board (BCECEB) will conduct Bihar MBBS  admission to 13 medical and 2 dental colleges on the grounds of NEET scores. Admission to Bihar MBBS  will commence with the release of application form. Only the domicile candidates will be eligible to fill the admission form, which will be available in the online mode in the third week of June. On the grounds of the NEET exam and personal details filled in the admission form, the authority will prepare the Bihar MBBS  merit list including the state merit rank, marks and percentile obtained by the candidate in the NEET .

Aryabhatta Knowledge University is a collegiate public state university which has all the government medical colleges in Bihar under it. Bhupendra Narayan Mandal University is an affiliating institution and offers undergraduate, graduate and PhD programs through its constituents, affiliated colleges, and institutes.

Gopal Narayan Singh University is a private university to be one of the first few private universities of Bihar. Al Karim University is a relatively new private university that manages Katihar Medical College,

The statistics can be summarized as:
Candidates= 65914
1140  MBBS seats in 9 government colleges, excluding the 100 seats in AIIMS Patna

340 seats in 4 private colleges

List of government colleges with total number of seats:

Name of College University Total Seats
Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College, Bhagalpur Aryabhatta Knowledge University 120
Nalanda Medical College, Patna Aryabhatta Knowledge University 120
Government Medical College, Bettiah Aryabhatta Knowledge University 120
Vardhman Institute of Medical Sciences, Pawapuri, Nalanda Aryabhatta Knowledge University 120
Indira Gandhi Institute of Medical Sciences, Sheikhpura, Patna Aryabhatta Knowledge University 120
Anugrah Narayan Magadh Medical College, Gaya Aryabhatta Knowledge University 120
Sri Krishna Medical College, Muzaffarpur Aryabhatta Knowledge University 120
Patna Medical College, Patna Aryabhatta Knowledge University 180
Darbhanga Medical College, Laheriasarai Aryabhatta Knowledge University 120
Total seats   1140

List of private/trust medical colleges with total number of seats

Name of College University Total Seats
Mata Gujri Memorial Medical College, Kishanganj Bhupendra Narayan Mandal University 85
Lord Buddha Koshi Medical College and Hospital, Saharsa Bhupendra Narayan Mandal University 85
Narayan Medical College & Hospital, Sasaram Gopal Narayan Singh University, Jamuhar 85
Katihar Medical College, Katihar Al Karim University 85
Total seats   340

Eligibility criteria for MBBS in Bihar

  • To be a top fit for the examination, a nominee must be aged 17 or above.
  • The age of the applicant should not overdo 25-years.
  • The age limit for category students is more bounteous than general category students.
  • Scores obtained in 12th grade should transcend the sum of 50%.
  • In 12th grade, the main subjects must be an aggregate of PCB with English as an elective language.
  • Applicant must be a citizen of Bihar or should fit in the criteria set given by the state for the domicile rule.

Domicile Rule for 85% state quota for MBBS in Bihar

The domicile rule permits the accountable authorities to check the student based on his/her native state. Every state uses this residency rule. The domicile rule is a permanent residence certificate assigned to a person by the state administrative office. In Bihar, the domicile certificate is granted to a person who is the permanent residence of the state and whose names are on the list of voters. The certificate can be obtained from the Revenue Department of Bihar. For the online concept of the certificate, one can use the help on the official website of the respective federal state. The remaining 15% of the fee is reserved for international students or students who choose quota management. political.

In Bihar, the accountable authority to conduct every process after the declaration of the result is the Bihar Combined Entrance Competitive Examination Board (BCECEB). This board handles the admission for nearly 1480 medical seats. It is also accountable for conducting admission related to other courses in the field of medicine. After the declaration of the result, the board releases the merit list according to the scores obtained by the students in the Bihar state. Students enlisted in this list would be notified regarding the date and place of counseling.

Documents required for admission process MBBS in Bihar

  • Printout of application form
  • NEET-UG result
  • NEET-UG Admit Card
  • Class 10 Mark Sheet
  • Class 12 Mark Sheet
  • Caste Certificate
  •  Income Certificate
  •  Domicile Certificate
  • Passport Size Photographs


For more details, visit the official website of The Bihar Combined Entrance Competitive Examination Board (BCECEB),


For support in MBBS Bihar admissions, contact

Following might help you as well.

MBBS in Chhattisgarh

MBBS in Odisha